AERO is set for take off!

Minister for Education Dan Tehan today announced the board members and a new name for the education institute that has been established to “drive evidence-based improvements to deliver improved student outcomes”

While Dr Jenny Donovan was announced as the Chief Executive Officer in June, see our Briefing, the Australian Education Research Organisation (AERO) has not, till now, had a name or a board appointed.  The establishment of a body like AERO was one of the recommendations to improve student outcomes made by David Gonski in the Review to Achieve Educational Excellence in Australian Schools.

Dr Lisa O’Brien will serve as the inaugural Chair of the AERO Board, taking up her position once AERO is incorporated in early 2021. The inaugural Board of AERO also includes:
• Emeritus Professor Colleen Hayward AM (Deputy Chair)
• Sir Kevan Collins
• Ms Judith Fahey
• Ms Kerri Jones
• Ms Leslie Loble
• Mr Roger Massy-Greene

Information about AERO and its resources can be found here.